Archive | 9:44 am

Not enjoying ….

5 Jan

My original proposal idea was…

Stacie Walker

 

350MC Research proposal

 

Title : How does fashion photography today change the identity of individuals?

For a long time fashion photography has dictated a standard of beauty that fees off collective dreams, with its advocation of romantic settings and a more glamorous world than we know. Fashion photography has shaped a vision of modern culture and is merely a kind of ‘perfection’ by delving into the relationships of ourselves and others. But how is this photographed in such a way that is has shifted our ambitions, and aspirations to change ourselves?

I will be putting together a presentation to argue my thoughts on this subject. For my mode of presentation, i have chosen to present a DVD as i thought this would be a good way to provoke my research and thoughts to my audience in the best way possible. I thought this method of presentation would be a good way also to develop my skills further in the production process which will benefit me in the future. I also feel that it is a good way to give me a clear outlook on the progression of my presentation along the path of research and final outcome.

I will be investigating and examining the precedents for such questions as this is something i and many other artists, photographers, and even models have scrutinised. I will approach this issue by locating many forms of context from different modes of research from all walks of life within the world of photojournalism, and famous practitioners. Exploring and researching this which will give me much more of a wider background to debate my studies.

The relationship between the photographic reality of fashion photography and what the world and our society see’s has questioned me into the how the identity of individuals can change just from a picture of   the newly found fashion garment in the summer,or from the motivation of a fashion tableaux in vogue magazine. Models aspire others to change their fashionable identity by the means of how they look in their eccentric attire on the cat walk or the photography within a high street fashion shop. This has urged me to question if the nation out there are hiding their real identity due to the shifts in fashion through the eye of the lens.

To form the evidence base of my argument i will be experiencing this in first hand data which will involve me interviewing fashionistas on their views of my argument. I will also analyse modern day TV programs on the subject of fashion, for example Gok Wan or project runway which will help me testify how our ‘real world’ society go about fashion individuality. Books will also be a great source as a lot of books archive information from every era of fashion from the 40’s to the 2000’s. This will give me a good platform to base my argument in the form of researching how fashion photography changes individuals as  this may have been witnessed from the very early ages of social trends.

In preparatory to arguing this case i will firstly establish a foundation to support my argument by reading data from books in which i have already began to commence. Secondly i will collect more data by researching true arguments from the real world in order for me to get anonymous genuine views on my question. This may involve interviewing other people or collecting evidence such as voice recording to present within my DVD to create a maybe biased or agreeable view. Gathering evidence from films, TV programs or even voice archives, I will gradually have material to analyse and argue my case. All this research will have to be put together to create my DVD presentation in which i will give good time to allow me to post product the DVD.

 

 

…………………………………….>>>>>>>

Always being a fan of fashion, and wanting to experiment more with fashion photography, i decided i felt like i could gain something from doing my DVD on fashion, and thought i would enjoy researching and putting something together on that topic. But as i started my research, I felt that i wasnt enjoying it and i had no motivation whatsoever. I felt like i was stuck with something that i found i began to have no interest in. I don’t know what it was about this idea that i wasnt enjoying but i knew i had fallen at a hurdle.  After doing some research on fashion for my dvd, it wasnt something i wanted to do and i knew i would struggle to work on something that i didnt have any interest in.

MY OPTIONS…

Start something new – Starting something new would be a little risky at this time as i had already drawn out a proposal, and knew i would have to start from scratch, but i still had plenty of time and would be better off doing something else i want to do rather than getting stuck and having no motivation..

OR

Carry on with My fashion proposal – Doing this would save me time and effort as i had already started researching, but if the motivation and the wanting to do a project on something i will enjoy, i will come across hurdles and struggle in the long run..